Instant Access to State, County and Municipal Records is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (“FCRA”). You understand and acknowledge that these reports are NOT “consumer reports” as defined by the FCRA. Your access and use of a report is subject to our Terms of Service and you expressly acknowledge that you are prohibited from using this service and this report to determine an individual’s eligibility for credit, insurance, employment or any other purpose regulated by the FCRA.

How do New Hampshire Courts work?

The Supreme Court acts as the highest legal authority in the state of New Hampshire, and oversees the decisions made by the Court of Appeals. This gives the Supreme Court the chance to weigh in on key decisions, questions, and conflicts regarding cases. In turn, the Court of Appeals oversees the decisions made by lower courts if one party choses to contest. These lower courts come in the form of one of the 10 superior or trial courts in each of New Hampshire’s 10 counties. There are various other tiers of court in New Hampshire, including Circuit Court, District Division, Probate Division, Family Division and more.

Civil Cases and Small Claims

There are a number of differences between civil cases and small claims cases in the state of New Hampshire. Civil cases refer to those in which the particular petitioner is looking for over $150,000, of which there are around 175,000 per year. However, it isn’t only monetary disputes that civil courts deal with, as dispute over property, name changes, and restraining orders can also be heard in civil court. On the other hand, small claims court hears disputes over things such as warranties, loans, repairs, deposits and more. They deal with cases in which the petitioner is looking for $10,000 or under. Around 100,000 of these cases are filed annually, and are not represented by counsel.

Appeals and court limits

There are also differences between the appeals process and court limits in civil and small claims courts. For example, either party can appeal a decision made in civil court, but only the defendant can appeal in small claims cases. Only civil court cases allow pretrial discovery, with small claims court not allowing it. A person can also have a lawyer represent them in civil court, as well as file papers on their behalf, where as neither are allowed in small claims court. There is a $30-$100 filing fee for small claims court cases, and both parties are then given 30-70 days to complete their case. On the other hand, in civil court there is a $180-$320 filing fee per claim, with parties being given up to 120 days to complete their case. A person does not have to be a US citizen to file or defend in small claims court, and can use an interpreter if their English is not good enough.

Why are court records public?

The New Hampshire Right to Know Law was brought in back in 1976, with the latest changes to the law coming in 2002. The law aims to ensure that all residents of New Hampshire have the right and ability to access all public records. All records maintained by state or local government can be accessed and copied by the public. The aim is to promote transparency and to safeguard government accountability.

To acquire records:

New Hampshire Supreme Court
One Charles Doe Drive
Concord, NH 03301

Clerk of the Court:  Eileen Fox
Phone: (603) 271-2646
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Mon - Fri


New Hampshire Court Structure
New Hampshire State Archives

State Archives

Contact: (855) 941-0993

Search Includes

  • Arrests & Warrants
  • Criminal Records
  • Driving Violations
  • Police Records
  • Sheriff Records
  • Inmate Records
  • Felonies & Misdemeanors
  • Probation Records
  • Parole Records
  • Bankruptcies
  • Tax & Property Liens
  • Civil Judgements
  • Marriages & Divorces
  • Birth Records
  • Death Records
  • Property Records
  • Personal Assets
  • Business Ownership
  • Professional Licenses
  • Political Contributions
  • Unclaimed State Funds
  • Relatives & Associates
  • Address Registrations
  • Affiliated Phone Numbers
  • Affiliated Email Addresses

Results are based upon available information from state, county and municipal databases, and may not include some or all of the above details.

New Hampshire

The New Hampshire Hillsborough County Courthouse was completed in the year 1901.

  • New Hampshire has 3 different types of courts. These are the Supreme Court, the Superior Courts, and the Circuit Courts.
  • The New Hampshire Supreme Court was founded in 1841 and holds 5 judicial positions, each of whom serve until the age of 70.
  • The New Hampshire Superior Court has 11 locations; one for each county and two for Hillsborough County. It was founded in 1769.
  • The Superior Courts have one chief justice and 28 associate justices.