New Hampshire Criminal Records
What defines a Criminal Record in New Hampshire?
A criminal record is defined as an official document that records a person’s criminal history. The information is assembled and updated from local, county and state jurisdictions, trial courts, courts of appeals as well as county and state correctional facilities.
The standard for criminal record collection and storage varies from county to county, but the majority of New Hampshire criminal records are organized in online record depositories that are available to the public in the form of a Criminal Background Report. This report is accessed through a number of courts, police departments, and the official New Hampshire State Records Online Database.
The amount of criminal records information presented on StateRecords.org may vary from individual to individual. This is because different sources often have non-standardized state level protocols, storage classifications, requirements, organization and digitization processes. Criminal records in the state of New Hampshire generally include the following subjects:
New Hampshire Arrest Records
An arrest record is an official document providing information about a person questioned, apprehended, taken into custody, or placed in detention. It may also include information on an individual held for investigation and/or charged with, indicted or tried for any felony, misdemeanor or other offense by any law enforcement or military authority. In New Hampshire, a person is arrested once they commit a misdemeanor or if they commit a felony where there are reasonable grounds to believe they committed the crime.
New Hampshire Arrest Warrants
An arrest warrant is an official document signed and issued by a judge or magistrate on behalf of the local and state jurisdictions. It authorizes a police officer to arrest or detain the person or people named in the warrant or to search and seize the individual’s property. In New Hampshire, the police can arrest a person for committing a crime even without a warrant. In most cases, this occurs when the person commits the crime in an officer’s presence. If the law enforcement officer presents the arrest warrant, it should be issued by a judge and it should have the full information about the crime and the full details of the offender.
New Hampshire Misdemeanors
A misdemeanor is a non-indictable offense that is generally less severe than felonies. However, like felonies, a misdemeanor charge is classified by a number-based system designed to describe the severity of the alleged crime. In New Hampshire, misdemeanors are crimes that are punishable by less than one year in jail or by fines only. New Hampshire law categorizes misdemeanors into two classes: Class A misdemeanors and Class B misdemeanors. Some crimes, such as prostitution, disorderly conduct and shoplifting items valued at $1,000 or less, can be charged with Class A or B misdemeanors.
New Hampshire Felonies
A felony offense is a criminal conviction with a minimum sentence of more than 1 year, which is served in a county jail or state prison. In some cases, a felony conviction can even be punished by death. In New Hampshire, felonies are serious crimes that are punishable by more than one year in prison. New Hampshire law categorizes felonies into two classes: Class A felonies and Class B felonies. Class A felonies are more serious crimes than B felonies.
A Class A felony is punishable by a maximum range of 7 ½ to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $4,000. Certain A felonies, such as murder and a second or later conviction for aggravated felonious sexual assault, are punishable by the death penalty or up to life in prison without parole. For a Class B felony, the court can impose a maximum range of 3 ½ to seven years in prison and a fine of up $2,000.
New Hampshire Sex Offender Listing
A sex offender listing is a registry of persons who have been convicted of committing a sex crime. It is often accessible by the public. In most cases, jurisdictions compile their laws into sections, such as traffic, assault and sexual. Judges are however given discretion as to whether registration is required for crimes besides those listed under the sex offender registration law. A judge may order an adult to register as a sex offender if the crime they were convicted of involves sexual motivation.
New Hampshire Serious Traffic Violation
A serious traffic violation tends to involve willful disregard for public safety, death, serious bodily injury, damage to property and multiple minor traffic violations. New Hampshire traffic ticket fines are consistent across the state. When a person is convicted of a traffic violation, that person will receive points on his/her NH driving record. The New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles will suspend his/her NH driver's license if a person accumulates too many points within a certain time.
New Hampshire Conviction Records
A conviction record is a document providing information that a person is found guilty, pleaded guilty or pleaded no contest to criminal charges in a civilian or military court. The criminal charges are classified as a felony, misdemeanor or other offense. Conviction also includes a person judged delinquent and less than honorably discharged or placed on probation, fined, imprisoned or paroled. A criminal conviction is rendered by either a jury of peers or a judge in a court of law. A conviction does not include a final judgment deleted by a pardon, set aside, reversed or otherwise rendered inoperative.
New Hampshire Jail and Inmate Records
Jail and inmate records are official documents of information about a person’s current inmate status. A person who is in jail or considered an inmate is someone who has been deprived of his/her civil liberties and is on trial for a crime or is serving a prison sentence after being convicted of a crime. The New Hampshire Department of Corrections maintains an inmate database that is often searchable online. These records include the inmate’s name, incarceration date, expected release date, convicted offense and sometimes photos.
New Hampshire Parole Information
Parole records are an official document that includes information about the release of a prisoner who agreed to certain conditions before the completion of his/her maximum sentence. While the prisoner is on supervised parole, the board shall need as a condition of parole that they pay a monthly supervision fee of not less than $30, unless the board agrees to accept a lower fee after determining inability of the prisoner to pay. The board may also impose any conditions of parole it seems to make sure the best interests of the prisoner and the citizens of New Hampshire are served.
New Hampshire Probation Records
Probation records are official documents that show when a person receives probation as an alternative to prison. Probation allows people convicted of a crime in New Hampshire to serve their sentences out of custody, as long as they follow probation conditions imposed by the judge and probation officer. Probation is issued in proportion to the crime, so the length and nature of probation differ (sometimes drastically) from case to case. Probation typically falls into three categories: minimally supervised, supervised and intensive. Intensive probation is a form of very strict probation that has conditions that emphasize punishment and control of the offender within the community.
New Hampshire Juvenile Criminal Records
A juvenile criminal record is an official record of information about criminal activity committed by children or adolescents who are not yet of legal adult age. Juveniles are not considered convicted of a crime like an adult but instead, are found to be “adjudicated delinquent”. These criminal records are often mistakenly thought to be erased or expunged once a person becomes of legal adult age, but in fact, the record remains unless the person petitions to have it expunged. If a person was found adjudicated delinquent to a criminal offense, they do not have to respond “yes” if asked whether they have ever been convicted of a crime, unless the question specifically asks if they were ever adjudicated delinquent as well.
New Hampshire History and Accuracy of Criminal Records
The accuracy of the data of criminal records depends on the recordkeeping and technological capabilities of the jurisdiction where the record is later digitized. New Hampshire criminal records archives usually tend to go back as far as the 1970s. Criminal and arrest data were centralized and compiled into an organized database much like we use today. Accuracy was more commonly affected by
New Hampshire Megan’s Law
Megan's Law is the term for state laws that create and support a sex offender registry, which provides information on registered sex offenders to the public. The first Megan's Law appeared after the rape and murder of 7-year-old New Jersey resident Megan Kanka by a sex offender who lived in the girl's own neighborhood. Soon after passage of this first Megan's Law, the federal government required that all states set up sex offender registries and offer the public with information about those registered.
In New Hampshire, convicted persons must register on the public list as a sexual offender or offender against children. The qualifying offense or offenses is made available to law enforcement through the offender’s criminal record and motor vehicle record. If an offender’s obligation to register terminates for any reason, the Department notifies the Division of Motor Vehicles of the change and the offender’s motor vehicle record is then updated.