New Hampshire Vital Records
New Hampshire Vital Records
The Office of Vital Records upholds all state level vital files within New Hampshire. These include documents relating to a resident’s key life events, such as births, deaths, marriages, and divorces. The documents relating to these important life events can include, but are not limited to, divorce decrees, divorce certificates and other divorce records, birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, marriage certificates. These records are all kept together in one registry to be used for statistical analysis.
Divorce records are handed out by New Hampshire government officials after said event is registered. When someone files for a divorce or annulment in New Hampshire, the documents are kept in one central registry with other state vital records. These divorce documents can include divorce certificates, divorce decrees, and other divorce records. It depends on the state in question as to whether these can be viewed by the public. Divorce records in New Hampshire are available at the New Hampshire Registrar of Vital Statistics. Divorce records cost $15 per copy in New Hampshire, with each additional copy being $10. There was a rate of 3.1 divorces per 1,000 inhabitants in New Hampshire in 2017.
Marriage records are also handed out by government officials in New Hampshire after the wedding has been registered. There are records dating all the way back to 1639 in the state, recorded by town clerks. Some of these can be found on microfilm at New Hampshire Town Records. Past 1901, records were all sent to the New Hampshire State Vital Records Index, and include more information about the event itself. Marriage records cost $15 per copy in New Hampshire, with each additional copy being $10. There was a rate of 7 marriages per 1,000 inhabitants in New Hampshire in 2017.
The term birth records refer mainly to the certificate issued upon the birth of every child in the state, or a certified copy of that birth certificate. New Hampshire boasts birth records dating back to the 1600s, with each county beginning to collect records from its conception. Town clerks collect the records before sending them on to the Bureau of Vital Statistics. Records between the 1600s and 1900 are available at the Bureau, or at the Family History Library on microfilm. Less than half the population was listed on birth records until 1883. Even the existing records said little about the parents of the child or the birth place. Records became more complete after 1901. Today, all records can be found at the New Hampshire State Vital Records Index. Birth records cost $15 per copy in New Hampshire, with each additional copy being $10.
Death records refer to the copy of information from a person’s death certificate after their passing. New Hampshire has death records dating back to the 1600s. These records were listed in the town or city register after the event, but are largely incomplete. These records can be found at New Hampshire Death Records 1654-1947 at the New Hampshire Family Search. Today, all records can be found at the New Hampshire State Vital Records Index. Death records cost $15 per copy in New Hampshire, with each additional copy being $10.
Why are these records available to the public?
The New Hampshire Right to Know Law was passed in 1976, with the most recent amendment coming in 2002. This law ensured that residents of New Hampshire could access any public records. Every person in the state can request access and copies of all state and local government files.
To access records:
Contact Vital Records Administration
Division of Vital Records Administration
N.H. Department of State
9 Ratification Way (formerly 71 South Fruit Street)
Concord, NH 03301-2410
Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
71 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
Main Number - (603) 271-4650 (8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
TDD Number - (800) 735-2964 (8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
Fax Number - (603) 271-3447 (8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
DVRA Reception - (603) 271-4650 (8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.)
Genealogy Vault - (603) 271-4650 (8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.)